The Creation Museum

The Creation Museum

Here’s a brief tour of some of the highlights [or lowlights?] that can be found at the Creation Museum in Petersburg, KY, a mere stone’s throw from Cincinnati.

The Creation Museum

The Creation Museum

The Creation Museum

The Creation Museum

The Creation Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

The Creatiom Museum

For a bit of context, these photos are from a year and a half ago but, since people keep asking me about my visit, I figured I should just post them for posterity. I was really unhappy about giving them my $20, although I was filled with a sick and consuming curiosity about the place. Plus, a friend of mine, who was raised a Young Earth Creationist and later went into the sciences, visited from out of town to see this for himself. He was the perfect companion for this field trip.

My photos are horrible, because I felt a bit embarrassed recording all this wackness among people whose wonder and enthusiasm seemed utterly devoid of any ironic detachment. I mostly focused on the didactics to help me remember some of the pivotal moments in this logical house of cards.

Sidenote: the typeface in the second photo is Tarzana by the brilliant Zuzana Licko, co-founder of Emigre. I think I’m offended by that choice.

12 thoughts on “The Creation Museum

  1. Too true, David… I should mention, too, that Tarzana, the typeface used for the Creation Museum’s logo, is also used in a lot of packaging for CVS brand products. You know, in case, this ever comes up on Jeopardy or something…

  2. Pingback: Looking Back: Best VL Posts of 2009 « Visualingual

  3. Pingback: Fire Museum of Greater Cincinnati | Visualingual

Leave a Reply

