BigPigGig 2012: A Preview of Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

The BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee is taking place this summer, but I spotted some of the decorated pigs on Fountain Square a few days ago. This is an ArtWorks project involving many artists, designers and sponsors, with the goal of temporarily installing the pigs in time for the World Choir Games.

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

BigPigGig 2012: Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

The original BigPigGig took place in 2000, and several of those pigs can still be spotted around town. This preview of the new batch of pigs promises more goofy fun in different media and styles. The project honors Cincinnati’s Porkopolis nickname in a fun and engaging way.

9 thoughts on “BigPigGig 2012: A Preview of Do-Re-Wee in Cincinnati

  1. There’s a bunch more, plus tons of sketches, in the ArtWorks lobby. I’m assuming that all of these pigs will be installed throughout Cincinnati soon. I think this Fountain Square installation is just a preview, but I’m not positive. It’s a really fun project!

  2. I love this! Reminds me of the Cow Parade I’ve seen in Portugal some years ago. I think Berlin had something with bears a while ago?! Anyway, i love public art projects like this.

  3. I think the sketches in Artworks are waiting for someone to sponsor them. I know a couple artists that submit proposals, now is your chance for a Visualingual sponsored Pig.

  4. aaaaaaaaalmost ! tod was nice enough to let me in and give me a tour last sunday. i’m so glad he did. i think i’m still on a high from that place🙂 i’m sorry, i must have missed your post on them.

  5. Very cool! You’re lucky to have gotten a preview. That’s one of my favorite places in Cincinnati, and I always try to take visitors there. I can’t wait to check out the new, larger space.

  6. Pingback: Woven Construction Fence by Keep Cincinnati Beautiful « Visualingual

Leave a Reply

