A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

I love hand-lettering. Love it. It’s irregular and a bit haphazard, with a lot more personality than “perfect” commercial signs. This particular example, like the sign says, is located at 1623 Race St. in Over-the-Rhine, just South of Findlay Market.

Good’n’fresh sandwiches? Oh, man… Why is A&B Grocery no longer open?

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

Hello, Africa.

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

Don’t even get me started on the minty green against the red. What a great color combination! Now, if this were still a corner store, that would be even better.

8 thoughts on “A&B Grocery Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

  1. If my experience is anything to go on, support by workers at local businesses probably had a lot to do with the decline of these places. In the early 80s older co workers would venture into OTR to Wrigley’s market for sandwiches & Yunger’s for a sit down plate lunch (or just drinks). But as younger, more suburbanified big chain oriented workers came along – they refused to walk to the nearby places & opted, instead, for driving to Clifton or the riverfront. There was also a decline in the trade shops & light industrial businesses in the area, too. & then the decline in residents over the years…..
    I do like that color combination, tho.

  2. Sigh… You’re right, of course, and I guess that’s something I don’t really have in common with many of my fellow OTR transplants. I rather enjoy doing as much as possible right in my neighborhood, and it’s frustrating that, while there are now more high-concept, destination dining and shopping options, there are fewer businesses that cater to the the day-to-day, low-order needs I have. I had never been to A&B but, from the signage, it might have actually been a useful little place.

  3. This reminded me of one of the abandoned grocers / drug stores in the back (north) part of OTR. Maybe I’m thinking of the old movie theater that is now turned into an abandoned drug store, or something like that. Have you ever checked that out? I see it every once in awhile when I’m lost and wandering in OTR. It’s back at the foot of the hill where the forest is starting to reclaim the incline ruins, old steel factory, and the movie theater (among other things).

  4. Hmm, I can think of two old theaters — the old Imperial at McMicken and Mohawk, and there’s another one on McMicken near Vine, which I think is or was most recently a church. I don’t know about either having been a drugstore.

    St. Paulus at 15th and Race is a church that had a drugstore in it, but it was never a theater.

  5. “It’s back at the foot of the hill where the forest is starting to reclaim the incline ruins, old steel factory, and the movie theater ”
    Cincinnati Metal Blast?

Leave a Reply

