VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

Sheesh, I’d forgotten all about this until the other day — a couple of years ago, our apartment was used for a photo shoot for the quilting book Black & White and Pieced All Over by Kay M. Capps Cross. Here are some of the photos that made their way into the book!

Back when I worked in book publishing, I used our home for a couple of shoots. This one had nothing to do with me, so I welcomed the art director, stylist, and my photographer friend Al into our home and left for the day. Location shoots are incredibly intrusive, and I didn’t want to watch the team tear our house apart. Of course, these people are experts and manage to put every little thing back in its place before calling it a day.

Above, our dining area as styled by the amazing Nora Martini. Below, the same space on a normal day.

VisuaLingual Home

VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

Above and below, our living area. It’s amazing how strange [and sometimes cool] it is to see your stuff moved around by someone with good taste. Hmm, maybe that bench should be in the corner by the window?

VisuaLingual Home

VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

Above and below, another view of the living area, this time from upstairs.

VisuaLingual Home

VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

Above and below, the bedroom. The faux taxidermy owl is a left-over prop from the AntiCraft book. The framed photo of us is a really funny, unflattering shot; I’m so glad it’s out of focus in the book!

VisuaLingual Home

More information about the book is here, and more photos of our beloved Over-the-Rhine apartment are here.

2 thoughts on “VisuaLingual Home in a Quilting Book

  1. This experience was fun, because we had no idea what the team had done until we saw the final photos in the book. Previously, I had art directed some shoots in our apartment, so I always had an element of control over the whole thing.

    Here’s a fun bit of trivia: at one point, I needed a model for a cover shoot, so I used my own free self. There’s no face, and it’s a fairly straightforward “sassy” shot of my butt and hands, on the cover of Canvas Remix.

Leave a Reply

