Elsewhere

365 Cincinnati: something new to do in Cincinnati every day of the year [well, the list is about 1/3 of the way through, but it’s already robust with good ideas; maybe suggest your own?].

Pennsylvania, Home of People Who Stay in Pennsylvania: surprisingly, Arkansas, West Virginia, Mississippi, and South Dakota all experience more of an influx of new residents. It makes Cincinnati seem worldly by comparison, doesn’t it?

Oakland: We’re More than Just Violent Thugs!: things to love about Oakland, thanks to my friend Christine.

Buy a Torpedo-Testing Facility: okay, done.

NYC Key to the City Project: awesome art project.

Enough with Jane Jacobs Already: hmm, food for thought.

How to Open a Business in Brooklyn: read it and smirk.

5 thoughts on “Elsewhere

  1. thanks for the link to the wsj article about Jane Jacobs. I’m a Jacobs fan, but also a Whyte fan. If you haven’t read him, do, if you are interested in how public space works.

    I’d suggest a combination of Jacobs, Wyite and – my personal favorite – Christopher Alexander. His book, “A Pattern Language” is probably the most complex, and poetic, study of how humans use space, both on an intimate and social level. It’s a gorgeous piece of writing. Have you read it?

  2. Oh, and Brooklyn? I left there nine years ago. My how it has changed. But I like to think I’ve brought a bit of Brooklyn to Burlington. I was even going to use that slogan as a tagline for my store a few years ago, but now I’m glad I didn’t. Way too trendy.

  3. Liza, I’m sure that Burlington is enriched by a dose of your vision, without a possibly patronizing Brooklyn reference in your store tagline.

    You’re about the tenth person to recommend Alexander’s book to me. From what I’ve been told, it really does sound like something with which I’d already be familiar. It’s definitely on my list.

    Oh, and Christine’s post about Oakland was in response to the riot fears that had been brewing. I forgot to mention that.

  4. I too find myself frustrated with the slavish devotion to Jane Jacobs’ writings. Hers was an important vision, especially in opposition to that of Robert Moses, but a very limited one that did not anticipate how the relative low density of the housing she was advocating would result in a sharp decline in diversity and displacement of all but the wealthiest. It’s certainly not a surprise to me that the writer of the WSJ article is from Jamaica, literally on the periphery of NY, where more and more people find themselves pushed.

  5. Thanks for the link! There were riots, but it was just a bunch of kids that wanted to find an excuse to smash stuff for no good reason. Sigh…
    As for Christopher Alexander- his books are a revelation, but you really need to dedicate yourself to getting through it. Public transit commutes were the only way I got through mine. They made me go through a short phase in wanting to go to architecture school. It passed.

Leave a Reply

