P. Enslen Tile in Newport, KY

P. Enslen tile in Newport, KY

I recently came across this tiled entry at the corner of Roberts and 8th Sts. in Newport, KY. The light blue tile next to the dark green door is an unusual color combination; I’m filing it away for future use. Two other examples of old tile in Newport: Fram Bros. and Model, both on Monmouth St. Can you tell that Newport’s small town charms are growing on me?

P. Enslen tile in Newport, KY

P. Enslen tile in Newport, KY

4 thoughts on “P. Enslen Tile in Newport, KY

  1. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I have really loved browsing your weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your RSS feed and I am hoping you write once more soon!

  2. This is the doorstep of the grocery built by Peter Johann Enslen who was born in Ebhausen, Germany in 1834 and emigrated to America in 1858. He was a butchers apprentice living in Covington, Kentucky in 1860. He eventually had 8 children who lived to adulthood, the eldest being my great grandfather Charles who was born in 1863. Peter Enslen died in Newport, Kentucky in 1915. I have never seen this doorstep so it was a real surprise. I would enjoy seeing any other photographs of the property.

  3. Wow, Carl, thank you so much for filling in these details of your family’s history. I hope that you’ll be able to visit the area at some point to see these kinds of relevant landmarks in person.

Leave a Reply

