Model Ghost Sign in Newport

Lately, I’ve been spending more time across the river in Newport, KY, and it’s really grown on me. I’ve discovered some restaurants that are A. good and B. open on Sundays! Hear that, Cincinnati? Some of us actually live on Sundays.

The other day, I came across this incredible terazzo entryway at 836 Monmouth St., which is now home to Fantasy in Frosting. I love the letters, and the colors, and the jaunty angles. But what was Model?

A couple of other terazzo ghost signs I’ve spotted in and around Cincinnati include Bellonby in Over-the-Rhine and Ford in downtown Cincinnati [tile typography surrounded by terazzo].

3 thoughts on “Model Ghost Sign in Newport

  1. I do, and I really appreciate seeing them here in Cincinnati, where they’re not that common. The town of Newport, Kentucky, where I found this entryway, is also growing on me. It’s a charming little town just across the river from Cincinnati, where I live.

  2. Pingback: P. Enslen Tile in Newport, KY « Visualingual

Leave a Reply

