Murdock Water Fountain in Downtown Cincinnati

This old water fountain sits outside of Christ Church Cathedral at 318 East 4th St. in downtown Cincinnati, just down the street from Lytle Park.

I noticed that Murdock, the company that produced this water fountain, also created the one I spotted in front of Coit Tower in San Francisco a year ago [below].

Murdock drinking fountain in front of Coit Tower

Murdock drinking fountain in front of Coit Tower

Maybe this is the same company, although there’s no mention of Cincinnati on its site. There are probably other water fountains by Murdock around here that I’ve just never noticed.

20 thoughts on “Murdock Water Fountain in Downtown Cincinnati

  1. Those fountains are all over Cincy, especially in the parks. The ones with the centered bubbler are the older better looking ones and there are others that have a off-center bubbler. I think they originally patented the non-freezing valve that is down below grade, which is why it always takes a few moments for the water to get up to the top when you step on the foot controller. The company manufacuring site and offices were located on River Rd, just a mile west of downtown until they were bought and moved to California just a couple years ago.

  2. I also noticed these fountains at the famous Jekyll Island Resort on Jekyll Island Georgia where the Federal Reserve Board goes to hide out and meet to decide our fate….. and then two more at a recreations center at “The Villages” in Lady Lake Florida…naturally interested since my name is Murdock. Wonder if I am related ?

  3. while googling for the company of murdock watering fountains, I came across your blog site about some murdock fountains. murdock is still around and making fountains and the last for a long time and they do make some contemporary ‘old’ ones as well.

  4. Hi! So ironic that when I googled “Murdock Water Fountain” I came here 🙂

    These fountains are fascinating to me. I first saw them in Ault and Alms Park, as well as the park at the corner of Madison / Observatory in Hyde Park. When we went down to Asheville, SC last summer I saw the Murdock fountains down there, along with the signature “made in Cincinnati”.

    Then today I was exploring the abandoned school of “Linwood Public” and found an old murdock fountain with the top piece missing. I’d like to check out the old murdock plant and see where else in Cincinnati these things crop up. More relics from an ancient era gone by?

  5. That’s great! What a small world this is, at least when it comes to these sorts of esoteric artifacts. I hope you’ll post photos of your finds to augment mine.

  6. Pingback: Sunrise 29: Ault & Armleder Park (Fog in the Prairie, Linwood Public School, Our Lady of Loretta, Murdock Fountains) « Ault Park Sunrise

  7. Thanks! I’ve been a bit too into it this week, I’ve gotta tone it down but this weather has been just amazing. I’m going to start creeping closer to downtown, there are many buildings and two other schools that were built around the same time period – I think both of them are still active though (fortunately!)

  8. I have a murdock fountain that was removed from the City Of Charleston SC. I was wondering what the value would be? If you could help I would greatly appreciate it.

  9. How old is it? There are ones from the 1960s that are very straight-edged looking, ones from the early 1900s that are more bubbly / beveled looking, and ones that go even further back.

  10. It looks just like the one in Cincy, I believe it is from early 1900’s. I believe thats when charleston installed them maybe around 1920. Not sure when it was removed, I was lucky enough to come across one.

  11. Murdock was the oldest continuously manufactured fountain in the United States until the company was purchased by Acorn manufacturing in City of Industry California (yes, that is the name of the city). Murdock fountains were hand made in Cincinnati since 1853 until the downtown renovation and new stadium project pushed them into bankruptcy. Though Acorn still manufactures the Murdock name, the fountains just aren’t the same. Another iconic industry falls prey to progress.

Leave a Reply

