VisuaLingual in House of Cars

Julian Stanczak installation

Today the exhibition House of Cars: Innovation and the Parking Garage opens at the National Building Museum in Washington, DC. It is the first-ever exhibit to focus on parking garages. Actually, what’s really momentous about it is that the above photo, taken by yours truly about a year and half ago, is part of the exhibit!

Earlier this year, I was contacted by a curator at the NBM about permission to reproduce this photo in this upcoming exhibit. After verifying the legitimacy of the query, I happily obliged. Now, can I put this on my résumé?

7 thoughts on “VisuaLingual in House of Cars

  1. Thanks, but I hope everyone realizes how arbitrary this is — I didn’t take the best photo of this project, just the one that a curator happened to find.

    A friend who lives in DC has been instructed to take a photo of my photo in situ for me. I’m sure it’s just a tiny element on some informational panel.

  2. Congrats!
    I did a post a couple years ago about Cincinnati, contrary to popular opinion, was not 20 years behind the times, but is leading the way in forward thinking architecture.
    June 2007 I said;
    “And public art? Nothing risked nothing gained. I heard complaints about Julian Stanczak’s hard-edged abstraction on the north side of the Fifth/Third garage. Love it or hate it is daring and hardly behind the times. Art is really meaningless if it doesn’t promote dialog and raise strong emotions, so I guess in a way it’s done its job already.”

    I guess someone in Washington agrees with us.

  3. It’s awesome that Stanczak’s art is included in the exhibit but a bit absurd that my photo was used. Wouldn’t it have been simpler to obtain the definitive photo from the artist or anyone else actually associated with the project? But, hey, I’m not complaining.

  4. How wonderful! You must be very proud that your photo was included, and what a unique piece of sculpture this is!

Leave a Reply

