I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

Returning to the topic of Ikea for a moment, the uber-talented Heather Moore of Skinny laMinx has developed a new pattern based on her favorite pieces from the 2009 Ikea catalog. Why? Because she lives in Cape Town, South Africa, where there is no Ikea. The pattern is available as a throw pillow or tea towel via her Etsy shop.

I’ve been a fan of Heather’s work for a few years and was pleased as punch when she submitted two of her screenprinted tea towels for the tea towel exhibit I curated last summer at the Nicholas Gallery downtown. Sure, I smirk a bit about the “cult of Ikea,” but I can also empathize with Heather’s frustration at being out of this particular decor loop.

I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

4 thoughts on “I Wish We Had Ikea by Skinny laMinx

  1. Pingback: Paintings by Cedric Cox « Visualingual

  2. Pingback: State of Affairs by Diffraction Fiber « Visualingual

Leave a Reply

