While You Were Out

If, like me, you live in Cincinnati’s basin, you probably encounter signs like this every weekend, as you try to run errands and generally live your day-to-day life in a neighborhood that doesn’t always accommodate its residents. I’ve come up with an quick and easy way to remind businesses of our presence.

Download and print out the PDF below, and leave friendly messages for the businesses in your neighborhood. It’s a polite way to make yourself heard. The PDF template is a standard 11×8.5, with four notes to clip and post.

While You Were Out

19 thoughts on “While You Were Out

  1. Hmm, for my next project, maybe I should offer to hold your hand to ensure that you do what you say you’ll do. Your point is valid, but I just wanted to develop a simple way to make myself heard. If a tree falls in the forest…

  2. I noticed that Enzos has a sign saying “look for our weekend hours”

    Also Coffee Emporium has been open on Sundays since November, and they seem to be doing well.

  3. Thanks, everyone! This idea only works if it engages people. So, please, make editorial suggestions for improvement, use this, pass it along…

    The “weekend hours” sign at Enzo’s has been up for a while. It replaced the sign above. I love that Coffee Emporium is now open on Saturdays and Sundays. Good coffee, good food, and a neighborly attitude — I really like that place.

  4. I am so backing you up on this endeavor.

    By which I mean I’m printing out your PDF, filling it in, and —

    — Sugar & Sunshine Bakery of Plainsboro, NJ are gonna get a little ‘taste’ of their own, this time: in the form of some trenchant customer feedback.

  5. Pingback: Seed Bombs by VisuaLingual « Visualingual

  6. This is cool.

    On the other end of the spectrum, as a retailer I need a sign like this, which in my secret heart of hearts is what I’d like to put on my door many days.

    DEAR CUSTOMER

    WHILE I WAS HERE for ____6______ hours YOU DIDN’T SHOW UP.

    HAD YOU SHOWN UP I WOULDN’T HAVE WASTED ___6____hours of my time, not to mention the wasted electricity, gas, and other precious resources it takes to keep this place open.

    CONSEQUENTLY I HAVE ___gone home to hang out with my children_____

    SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE. PLEASE COME BACK AGAIN

  7. Thanks. Oh, the frustrations of retail.

    Meanwhile, I adore your seed bombs and have tweeted and posted on Facebook about them.

  8. Wow, thanks so much! If you happen to know of any cool shops in Burlington that may be interested in carrying our seed bombs, we’re actively securing new wholesale accounts and would appreciate any leads.

Leave a Reply

