Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit is a nine-part, temporary installation by Chakaia Booker in downtown Indianapolis. The project was sponsored by Public Art Indianapolis, a recently launched initiative of the Arts Council of Indianapolis [hear that, Cincinnati?].

The installation, constructed largely of tires, references both Indy’s rich African American heritage and car racing history, in addition to pointing toward the Indianapolis GreenPrint initiative.

Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

Mass Transit is up through Apr 09. Pictured here is Tailgating, one of the nine temporary sculptures.

5 thoughts on “Mass Transit by Chakaia Booker

  1. I am contemporary artist myself and felt I just had to leave a comment on your blog. What I have seen here today really is something special. I will definately bookmark your blog and recommend it to my friends and family. I wish you only the very best for the future.

  2. Thanks! Maintaining a daily blog has been great motivation to find and record something inspiring every day. After a year, I’ve got a document of so many positive influences that I’ve come across, that I can never again say that I don’t feel inspired. It’s a great exercise!

  3. “a recently launched initiative of the Arts Council of Indianapolis [hear that, Cincinnati?]”…keep those comments coming…maybe one day the city will give in to the peer pressure!

  4. Pingback: Elsewhere « Visualingual

  5. Pingback: Ann Dancing by Julian Opie « Visualingual

Leave a Reply

