Elsewhere

Something Lost: in Over-the-Rhine, a sweet Paramount Vodka ghost sign has been painted over. Thanks, guys…

Grand Central, a Cathedral for Commuters, Celebrates 100: happy birthday to Grand Central Terminal!

Ed Koch’s Legacy in Hip-Hop: Koch was my first NYC mayor; a week after his death, this is a must-read.

Lawns into Gardens: more people are digging up their lawns to plant fruits and vegetables and encountering city opposition in the process, with Orlando being the latest incident.

Gentrification as an End Game, and the Rise of “Sub-Urbanity”: “creative class enclaves are increasingly being appropriated into the domesticated lifestyle embodied by traditional suburbia.”

Swabian Invasion? Scorn for Eastern Berlin’s Well-Heeled Newcomers: on gentrification in Berlin.

Infographic: NFL Fans According to Facebook: fun with data.

4 thoughts on “Elsewhere

  1. I’ll miss the Paramount sign (s) – altho I never bought the stuff…..
    I don’t get the grass only thing on yards. I also kinda resent people assuming you’re putting all sorts of chemicals & oceans of water on your grass just by virtue of having grass. If there’s any rules about that kind of thing in Cincinnati, I don’t know of anybody getting hassled. I’ve grown corn out front & a neighbor around the corner grew (pop)corn & cherry tomatoes. I got the impression the tomatoes were for passersby.
    People HAVE gotten prickly about chickens in the neighborhoods, however.

  2. I think the rules largely depend on the HOA. I once read that the lawn is historically important as a status symbol of the leisure class — makes sense to me. If I had a yard, I’d grow fruits, veggies and herbs and really put it to use.

Leave a comment