Sam’s Meats & Eats Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

Sam's Meats & Eats Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

Happy Thanksgiving! This holiday really boils down to meats and eats, don’t you think? The RC Cola-branded ghost sign for Sam’s Meats & Eats is located in Over-the-Rhine, Cincinnati on West McMicken Ave. near Mohawk Pl.

But wait, there’s more! This is a two-in-one find, with a terrazzo entryway spelling out Spies. I love the Art Deco form of the “S.” Could this be a precursor to The Boring Store in Chicago?

Sam's Meats & Eats Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

4 thoughts on “Sam’s Meats & Eats Ghost Sign in Over-the-Rhine

  1. Oh, come on… You just have to pay attention to where you are, no matter where you are.

    Last summer I was just a couple of blocks East on McMicken, trying to capture the hand-painted signage for Martin’s, when a woman crossed her arms pointedly and asked if I was taking photos because I was looking to buy the building. When I told her that, no, I just appreciated the signs, she warmed up and told me a bit about the artist, who is someone she knows. So, I think attitude and intent play a role, too.

Leave a Reply

