Papercuts by Helen Musselwhite

papercut by Helen Musselwhite

Helen Musselwhite is a Manchester-based artist who creates amazingly intricate papercuts, many of which feature charming cottages and wildlife in the woods, inspired by walking her dog through the edge of suburbia and the country. How pastoral!

Gypsy Caravan by Helen Musselwhite

Gypsy Caravan by Helen Musselwhite

Woodcutters Cottage by Helen Musselwhite

Woodcutters Cottage by Helen Musselwhite

Hedgerow Birds by Helen Musselwhite

Hedgerow Birds by Helen Musselwhite

White Creek Cottage by Helen Musselwhite

White Creek Cottage by Helen Musselwhite

The Deers by Helen Musselwhite

The Deers by Helen Musselwhite

Harbour Tide by Helen Musselwhite

Harbour Tide by Helen Musselwhite

For more information about Helen and her work, see this interview.

Maybe I should try my hand at papercuts, because I keep swooning at the work of talented artists who do amazing things with paper — if you have some time to kill, check out the work of Ann Wood, Su Blackwell, Jayme McGowan, and Peter Callesen. See also the folded paper art of Simon Schubert and the map butterflies by Lucien Warren. You can also check out my own paper collages, which I donated to last year’s Secret ArtWorks fundraiser.

38 thoughts on “Papercuts by Helen Musselwhite

  1. Thanks visualingual – I will! check out my blog tomorrow onwards – it’ll be there. I too believe that a little exposure to some really amazing talent goes a long way for the creator. I feel blessed when that happens. There is a lot of good around we’ll just have to share it around. Thanks so much. Good luck to you. BTW – enjoyed your blog and love the shop. Will pop in shortly.

  2. Those are amazing. As someone who worked with paper in the past I am impressed – I always managed to wrinkle or crease whatever I was working on. I’m interested in what type of paper she uses. Looking at her work there seems to be a lot of varying textures. And her cutting technique is great. Must take a lot of patience.

    I’ve never visited your blog before (I’m just getting started) but I love looking at art. I took a peek at your collages and really like the ones you did of furniture on loud prints. They remind me of Matisse’s “Red Room”.

    And to justalittlepiece, I can’t remember the name of the book I used, but a folding bone and some heavier paper are a great way to get started. It’s fun to see what you can come up with by just starting with folding and basic cuts. You can take a flat piece of paper and make a free standing three-dimensional piece. = ]

    http://phamousphil.wordpress.com (no art yet, just writing – I will definitely be back to see what you post about next)

  3. Those are really nice pieces! I’ve done some origami in the past and also enjoy working with paper. Maybe a combination of both would come out nice too…

  4. Thanks IslandMeri and Phil! My own paper-cutting skills are really rudimentary [as you can see from the collages to which I linked] but, if you want to learn more about that particular art, you might check the “paper crafts” section of your local bookstore, and look for titles on scherenschnitte.

  5. visualingual, you’ve got some really lovely things in your online shop.
    I used to be a student at Ohio U (Athens, OH)for 2 years doing my graduate degree. I enjoyed the place and am waiting for a good time to revisit the state. Your work reminded me of happy memories I had in OH. Just thought I’d mention that. Power to you!

  6. Great art works! The layering of the paper-cutouts really adds another dimension to the works; using natural light and shadows as elements is just ingenius. Although I prefer paper art works that utilizes a single piece of A4 paper – such as Peter Callesen’s works – Helen Musselwhite’s works have a quaint charm of a fairytale or children’s books illustration.

  7. Wow ! These are beautiful ! And of they look so impressive on the computer screen I can only imagine how they would present in reality ! Well done . Looking forward to traversing further through your blog.

  8. wow what a nice art work this is really beautiful , awesome creativity, keep doing and keep posting , best of luck .

  9. have you ever done any of the human face? I wonder how well you could replicate real life people?

  10. Pingback: Top 10 VisuaLingual Posts of 2009 « Visualingual

  11. Pingback: Top 10 VisuaLingual Posts of 2010 « Visualingual

Leave a Reply

